1231 N. Ashland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60622

espanol Facebook Twitter Youtube

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

call us773-276-5541

What Are the Laws on Concealed Carry of Firearms in Illinois?

Posted on in Criminal Defense

IL defense lawyerEven though the right to own firearms is written into our country’s constitution, gun ownership has been a highly contested issue in the United States for years. Illinois was the last state in the country to legalize the concealed carry of firearms in 2013, finally allowing its citizens to keep a firearm on their person without it being in plain sight. To legally practice this right, however, you must follow certain rules and procedures, or you could face criminal charges.

Gun Ownership Laws

In the state of Illinois, you are permitted to own firearms, but only after you have received your firearm owner’s identification (FOID) card. The requirements for getting a FOID card include being at least 21 years old, not being a convicted felon, and not being addicted to narcotics, among other requirements.

If you wish to carry a firearm on your person and keep it out of plain view, you must have a concealed carry license (CCL). Requirements to receive a CCL are similar to those for a FOID card, but there are additional requirements that must be met. The requirements for receiving a CCL include:

  • Having a valid FOID card
  • Not having been convicted of a misdemeanor involving the threat or use of violence toward another person in the past five years
  • Not having two or more DUI violations within the past five years
  • Not having current pending involvement in the criminal justice system
  • Completing at least 16 hours of approved firearms training

Common CCL Violations

Being charged with a CCL violation could result in serious consequences. Some of the most common violations for CCL holders include:

  • Carrying a concealed weapon without a valid CCL: If you are caught carrying a concealed firearm but do not have a valid CCL, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, the most serious misdemeanor classification. This means you face up to one year in jail and up to $2,500.
  • Carrying a concealed firearm while under the influence of drugs or alcohol: It is illegal for anyone to possess a firearm when they are intoxicated. If you are charged with carrying a concealed firearm while intoxicated, you could face a Class A misdemeanor. However, if you commit this more than twice, your third offense would be charged as a Class 4 felony, with the possibility of one to three years in prison.
  • Carrying a firearm in a prohibited place: This can occur in a variety of situations. In Illinois, you are not permitted to carry a concealed firearm in places like churches, schools, public parks, government property, and businesses with posted signs restricting concealed carry. If you do carry a firearm in a prohibited place, this charge is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, which means it comes with a possible sentence of up to six months in jail and up to $1,500 in fines.

Speak to Our Cook County Weapon Charges Defense Attorney

There are a number of weapons crimes that a person could be charged with, but those involving carrying concealed weapons can be serious. If you have been charged with any type of weapons crime, you should speak with a Rolling Meadows, IL weapon charges defense lawyer to discuss your case. At the Luisi Legal Group, our team can help you understand the charges against you and all of the options available to combat those charges. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 773-276-5541.

 

Sources:

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=043000660K70

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=043000660K65

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=3497&ChapterID=39

Elite Lawyer AVVO ABA HLAI ISBA
Back to Top