1231 N. Ashland Avenue, Chicago, IL 60622

espanol Facebook Twitter Youtube

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

call us773-276-5541

IL defense lawyerThe state of Illinois takes traffic violations seriously, since disobeying traffic laws can lead to car accidents with injuries. Certain infractions can result in criminal charges, and a motorist losing his or her driving privileges for a period of time. This can cause great hardship if a person relies on driving to get to and from work to support his or her family. Depending on the offense, an individual may be able to obtain an occupational license, which allows him or her to drive to designated places at specific times for employment or school. However, if a driver operates his or her vehicle on a suspended or revoked license, the penalties can be steep. An experienced criminal defense attorney can help defend against these serious charges.

Reasons for Suspension or Revocation

In Illinois, after a conviction for a traffic violation, points are added to a motorist’s driving record, with the number of points varying according to the severity of the offense. Multiple violations can result in the suspension of driving privileges. A few of the most common traffic offenses that can warrant a license suspension or revocation.

  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Failure to attend court hearings
  • Lapsed auto insurance
  • Multiple moving violations
  • Unpaid traffic or parking tickets
  • Other administrative suspensions

Illinois Punishment

Driving while your license is suspended is a criminal offense in Illinois. A first-time conviction of driving on a suspended or revoked license can put a driver in jail for 10 days, or he or she may be ordered to perform 30 days of community service.

...

IL defense lawyerChicago’s Kennedy Expressway experienced a nearly 60 car pileup this Wednesday - the morning of icy conditions more usually seen in the winter months. This crash was a result of a combination of speeding and following too closely. These actions can lead to traffic tickets and fines for smaller crashes where it is obvious who is at fault.

The impact of this major crash was that 14 people were taken to the hospital and several more were treated on-scene. All of this could have been avoided if drivers practiced safer driving habits in the winter-like weather.

Safe Driving Tips for Icy Conditions

The roads become slicker even if it looks like ice is not sticking to the pavement. Drivers should slow their rate of travel because the faster one drives, the less control the driver has if the car starts to slide on the ice.

...

IL defense lawyerLast year, there was a six-car pileup on the Kennedy Expressway which injured nine people and killed at least one person. A semi-truck struck stopped vehicles and the driver was charged with failure to reduce speed, according to the Illinois State Police department.

Since then, not much has changed in regards to speeding citations on the Kennedy or the other highways which connect Chicago to the suburbs. The most unfortunate part is seeing cars travel at far too high of a speed on roads that can already be dangerous because of the number of vehicles.

When Does Speeding Become Aggravated Speeding?

All drivers are responsible for knowing the speed limits on each type of road in Illinois. While there should be signs posted along the roads to remind drivers, everyone should know and maintain the proper speed in order to avoid collisions:

...

IL defense lawyerIllinois State Police estimates that every year distracted driving is the cause of more than 1 million crashes. Of those accidents, the economic damages - injury and death - add up to close to $40 billion. This is why Illinois is cracking down on cell phone usage while behind the wheel. The law changed on July 1 and now states that using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle will be considered a moving violation on the first violation.

What Was the Previous Law?

Before the first of July, drivers who were stopped because of cell phone usage behind the wheel were given a verbal warning that if it were to happen again, they would face a traffic violation. The subsequent traffic stops would result in a moving violation and a fine would be issued depending on how many violations the driver has had:

  • First offenses are punishable by a $75 fine.
  • Second offenses are punishable by a $100 fine.
  • Third offenses are punishable by a $125 fine.
  • Fourth and subsequent offenses are punishable by a $150 fine.

What to Expect Now

The major change to the Illinois law is that now any violation of cell phone usage while driving will go on a driver’s permanent record as a moving violation even if it is the first offense. The fines remain the same as before, but according to a report from the Chicago Tribune, if a driver receives three violations in one year, their license will be suspended.

...

IL defense lawyerIllinois has plenty of rules for motorists to remain safe when driving through construction zones. According to the Illinois Highway Safety Plan, motorists are more likely to be injured in a construction zone accident than workers, but the rules are put into place to avoid any accident or injury. Those who do not adhere to the construction zone rules are putting their lives and the lives of the workers at risk. Motorists who are caught will be charged with a commercial driver’s license violation which leads to traffic tickets and fines.

What Are the Punishments for Construction Zone Violations?

Distracted driving is one common violation that can result in a motorist being pulled over and ticketed. If someone is talking or texting on a cell phone, the fine is $75 for first offenses and increases to $150 for subsequent offenses.

Speeding in a construction zone is a ticketed offense whether or not there are workers present. This is because 90 percent of work zone fatalities are motorists and not workers, according to the Illinois Highway Safety Plan. First offenses for speeding in a construction zone are punishable by a minimum fine of $375 and subsequent offenses result in a minimum fine of $1,000. If the subsequent offense happens within two years of the first offense, a motorist will have their CDL suspended for 90 days. 

...
Elite Lawyer AVVO ABA HLAI ISBA
Back to Top